PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] [SOLVED] Option 3G Wireless (Globetrotter) card not recognized

pwaldo
November 3rd, 2008, 09:20 PM
Hi all,

I have been able to get my Globetrotter card working finally. The problem was that when the card is inserted, it looks like a USB memory stick that contains Windows install software. This functionality must be disabled before the card will be a modem. There is a utility to switch the mode on this card. You can get it by doing the following:

Add this repository to your /etc/apt/sources.list:
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/martijn/ubuntu intrepid main
Get the package:
sudo aptitude install rezero

Hope this helps out!

rephreak
November 4th, 2008, 12:22 AM
Hi,

Im happy if you can explain how to add that repository. Because Im new in linux. This is my first time using Ubuntu 8.10.

Its look like I need internet connection to add that repository, but i can't do that if my modem (Option ICON2 USB) not work.

Would you write step by step for the solution?

Thanks, and sorry for my bad english.

Arabiest
November 4th, 2008, 10:00 AM
Thank u.

This might help with my Branddeluxe C100 GSM card and my SMC Wirless Adapter.

I will try it soon.

pwaldo
November 4th, 2008, 02:22 PM
Hi,

Im happy if you can explain how to add that repository. Because Im new in linux. This is my first time using Ubuntu 8.10.

Its look like I need internet connection to add that repository, but i can't do that if my modem (Option ICON2 USB) not work.

Would you write step by step for the solution?

Thanks, and sorry for my bad english.
Hi rephreak,

I'm not sure if my procedure will work for you, as it appears we have different cards. When you plug your card in, do you get a CD icon where the name is REZERO? If so, this may work for you.

The first thing is to open a terminal. Use your menus and run Applications|Accessories|Terminal. In this terminal, type or paste this command. This adds the repository where rezero lives.