PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Sentech(IPwireless) usb no working

deadly_sinn
November 3rd, 2008, 08:58 PM
howdy, i am using a usb ipwireless modem..i have installed 8.10 and have done a list in terminal, it is connected but i cant use it! i read somewhere that in 8.4 the issue had been fixed and in network manager it showed up as an option..is this true?? and or how can i get it to work in 8.10?? i am a NOOB when it comes to most code so is there a fix out there?? please help!! either that or should i install 8.4?

mips
November 3rd, 2008, 09:22 PM
http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=90 if you don't come right.

deadly_sinn
November 4th, 2008, 08:30 AM
bump...anyone?

deadly_sinn
November 4th, 2008, 10:52 AM
anyone have a clue??

mips
November 4th, 2008, 12:19 PM
Does it connect via ethernet or usb?

If usb post output of lsusb or lsusb -v

deadly_sinn
November 4th, 2008, 02:42 PM
it connects via usb

deadly_sinn
November 5th, 2008, 09:01 AM
i did lsusb a few days ago, didnt read the whole post..it detects the device as ipwireless and gave me a usb port..so it knows that it is there..just need to make it dialout...i just reinstalled 8.04, cuz i read that it worked, but i am back to square one...any clues?

deadly_sinn
November 5th, 2008, 12:30 PM
bump..im desperate

mips
November 5th, 2008, 02:22 PM
http://www.neology.co.za/products/opensource/ipwireless/

deadly_sinn
November 5th, 2008, 02:44 PM
ok, i dled that but i have NO clue how to install it..and all the links on the site dont work...:P...i think this might drive me to drink:P..aha..thanks so far tho

mips
November 5th, 2008, 03:15 PM
Sorry, I did not try the links. Maybe try and email the owner of the site.

I would also check the mybroadband site and do a search for Linux under the Sentech sub-forum.

This device is also in use in NZ but under a different name, searching on that that name would probably yield better results. I cannot remember the name though.

deadly_sinn