PDA

View Full Version : what linux programmmers/ developers do for a living ?

medya
November 2nd, 2008, 07:53 PM
hey guys ,
I am a linux blogger, and sometimes I do programming for linux softwares and working on the linux bugs ...

I never make anything out of my posts ، currently I am a comptuer student in iran, I wonder what other programmers do for a living,
how do u make money ?

after I graduate and get my degree do u think there is a way to make money and live ?

Bölvağur
November 2nd, 2008, 07:56 PM
Some work fulltime on the linux kernel for companies like IBM. A guy that contributes to ubuntu by making sure laptops work with ubuntu works at nokia.

medya
November 2nd, 2008, 08:33 PM
what else ?
by your idea what are the most wanted computer jobs ?
what skills should I focus more on them , and where I can find jobs?

Tomosaur
November 3rd, 2008, 12:49 AM
I am a software engineer developing software for Windows.

medya
November 3rd, 2008, 07:24 PM
I am a software engineer developing software for Windows.

can you tell me where do u find job ?
and do u make enough money to live ?
is your job easy ?
what kind of thiugs u can do ? programming or what ?

Bölvağur
November 3rd, 2008, 08:04 PM
I see that you are from Kurdistan. I guess there are not as many companies fighting for computer engineers that are on last year in university there as in my country.

What I have been seeing in Pakistan and India is that they have good coders that are working for software firms all over the world to make classes and functions that the software firms dont want to code them selfs.

So I guess you would have to become elite programmer, or at least, not be an amateur one.

I have been checking out job offers and saw one time EA gaming looking for students to join their school. It is a software school for the EA software company where people are trained before they can use you.... you could try look for it.

medya
November 3rd, 2008, 09:24 PM
how to become elite programmer ?