PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.10 upgrade leaves mouse keyboard not working

nmltom
November 2nd, 2008, 04:04 PM
I am a newbie and need some help. Upgraded 6.06 to 8.04 to 8.10 following the instructions and everything seemed to go fine. However, when it was all over the mouse and keyboard did not function at the GDM login screen.

I can go to terminal mode and keyboard works fine. Looking for a solution, I did run command "dpkg -reconfigure -phigh xerver-xorg" and got the error message "package x-xerver.org is not installed"

I also tried command from another thread "sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-input-all" and the command ran but did not get the devices working again. I also restarted the computer. Still mouse and kbd do not work.

I would be grateful for any advice that will help me fix the x-server.org file and get the kbd and mouse working again. Thank you.

sbinkerd1
November 2nd, 2008, 04:46 PM
same here. no keyboard and mouse after upgrade.

sbinkerd1
November 2nd, 2008, 11:13 PM
screw 8.10.

After spending all day trying as many different fixes from hours of googling I have decided to give up and copy everything to my 2nd HDD and reinstall hardy. I ended up screwing up the system even more doing the "fixes" and work arounds.

Thanx to the folks at Ubuntu for Hardy. A hex on you for putting out that piece of crap Ibex.

nmltom
November 3rd, 2008, 02:49 AM
So I guess I am not the only one who has this problem. Still I think the solution should be really simple. Can anyone in the Ubuntu community help?

zackiv31
November 3rd, 2008, 02:53 AM
My Keyboard and mouse have been horrific.. trying to figure out if its a GNOME issue or IBEX... got this has been miserable.

SavvyPlayer
November 3rd, 2008, 08:52 PM
I can confirm this is an issue with my upgrade from 7.10 to 8.04 to 8.10.

SavvyPlayer
November 3rd, 2008, 09:45 PM
Reconfiguring (dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg) results in an xorg.conf file that contains a bare minimum of detail:

# Usual comments...