PDA

View Full Version : What do you like Firefox?

darkvampire
November 1st, 2008, 08:37 PM
What is it that Firefox users like about Firefox?

Advantages/Disadvantages.

Opinions please :wink:

jespdj
November 1st, 2008, 08:52 PM
It just works really well.

I am a software developer and one of the things I do is program web applications (in HTML, CSS, JavaScript, etc.). One of the most annoying problems when developing web applications is that different browsers render web pages differently and implement features differently, despite the standards (http://www.w3.org).

Firefox fortunately adheres well to web standards, so that web applications look and work as they should.

Internet Explorer is the most used browser, but it is also the browser that deviates most from the web standards and contains the most bugs and quirks.

Paul41
November 1st, 2008, 08:52 PM
I like the flexibility. The base Firefox is good, but with extensions I can make it exactly like I like it.

darkvampire
November 1st, 2008, 08:55 PM
Thank you for your comments;
But what about disadvantages?

:wink:

Paul41
November 1st, 2008, 09:00 PM
Thank you for your comments;
But what about disadvantages?

:wink:

The only disadvantage that I can think of is that it is slow to open.

tom66
November 1st, 2008, 09:01 PM
Well, some (not including me) don't like how it's logos are trademarked. Also, the memory usage can be high (higher than some other lighter browsers), but it is lower than IE generally, which is good. Of course, since it is the #2 browser, not all pages look the same when you're developing and targeting IE as a browser.

Saint Angeles
November 1st, 2008, 09:07 PM
i use swiftweasel... its supposed to be more optimized or something...

and using the "stylish" extension really helps make things awesome.

RiceMonster
November 1st, 2008, 09:17 PM