PDA

View Full Version : Newbie just lettin people know I'm here!!

dapunisher
November 1st, 2008, 06:32 PM
I am 25yo. I am currently a student. I study JAVA and Visual Basic for now. I also study HTML but I think the formatting language is too easy to justify a class so its more of a "online tutorial" kind of learning. I've started programming earlier this year. If anybody needs anything feel free to write me(just keep it clean and relevent). Oh, question for ubuntu develpers...what language should I learn so I can start developing for ubuntu(or linux for that matter)? I would like to start changing ubuntu, adding/changing interfaces, developing software like editors or games or whatever project I can get my hands on!

Delever
November 1st, 2008, 07:22 PM
Hi :)

Find something you are interested in, you can use any language you want (except probably visual basic). I am experimenting with C++, but that's because I probably hate myself.

Good luck.

P.S. Python is popular.

ankursethi
November 1st, 2008, 08:04 PM
There will be about a hundred thousand people recommending Python. Listen to them. Also check out Ruby. If you're truly adventurous, try your hand at Lisp. Just make sure whatever you learn isn't controlled by Big Corporation Inc., like Microsoft.

Happy hacking :)

pmasiar
November 1st, 2008, 08:24 PM
Simple advice: check stickies. Tons of good advice there, and you also would get better idea about forum regulars.

And for language, Python rules 8-)

LaRoza
November 2nd, 2008, 12:15 AM
I also study HTML but I think the formatting language is too easy to justify a class so its more of a "online tutorial" kind of learning.
Brace yourself ;) XHTML (HTML is old...) is simple, but that doesn't make using it simple. Use XHTML to describe the logic of a page (not looks!) Use CSS to style the page. All languages are easy, but using them is what can be hard. Good webdesign is beyond knowing the language.