PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu vs MacOS: ibook evaluation

simon.gillespie
November 29th, 2005, 01:27 PM
My first post so excuse mistakes.

I have just finished packing up an ibook that I ordered from Apple. To send it back.

It must be noted that I am a power user. So for a complete beginner it might have been different. I wanted an OS that worked and looked good and needed low maintenance.

Heres why:

1. I expected tight OS hardware integration:
Finder crashed with strange lines across the window. It and Safari would often stop and take little coffee breaks so they could chat amongst their mutually cool selves with their backs facing me. Strange pauses for no reason and long... about a minute.
The backlight control didnt work from the keyboard.

2. GUI is not as great as the legend says:
Idiotic behaviour of the zoom icon in a window and no second mouse button. The zoom really doesnt work like maximise. It tries to do only the information in the window. As the information changes it doesnt adapt so in safari had to manually resize. In fact it appears most mac users dont use the zoom button for this reason see google for discussions...

No second mouse button is like being a fish out of water. This is typical Apple geekery. They really need to think about this one.

Finder would not let me set default to list mode. Oh no! only gave me an option of a new fangled column mode which made little sense.

No applications menu: Applications have to be considered as files. You have to go to Finder to find them. This is really silly and bad for system reliability. No wonder MacOS needs the new extended file attributes so badly. This whole file kick of Apples is bad. Users dont care about seeing apps as files. Ubuntus Install system is quicker and doesnt need a web browser to download etc.

There is a sense here that Apple knows best and is forcing you to adapt to their interface.