PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Ubuntu/Kubuntu 8.10 File Browser Freezes (goes grey) when reading Hard drive

Gilreygar
October 31st, 2008, 05:40 PM
Hi i'm new with linux and i wanted to try ubuntu/kubuntu, all went smooth (besides wireless :P) but now i'm having a strange problem.

First, it's a Laptop (Toshiba Satellite Pro L300D-SP5802) AMD turion64 X2, ati x1200, 1 gb ram, 1 Sata 160 GB HDD.

So, since i had Winxp and it's my "production" laptop so i dual booted kubuntu 8.10 32 bits, since i tested with the live cd and i could use everything (except wifi, that i'm aware that it's atheros problem), the HDD it's like this: partition 1: WIN XP 27 gb(ntfs) partition 2: DATA 107 gb(ntfs) part3:LINUX 15-20 gb(ext3) part 4:linux swap 1 gb(swap).

So, i installed, no prob, i updated all via wired connection (eth0) so far so good, so i thought "lets hear some music while this thing updates", so i double clicked the win xp partition, it asked me for my sudo pass si it could mount, no problem there, i coul browse that partition and open files, but then i wanted to hear my main music collection (that it's on "DATA") so i double clicked "DATA" asked me for the sudo pass, i wrote it, it started like reading it an then he file browser window got grey and froze, i could do other things like use firefox or open other apps but the file browser was dead, if i clicked the X to close it would tell me that i had to "force" the closing, so i accepted and then it seems to me that all the file browser sistem dies and restarts since the icons of my mounted partitions/drives dissapears and appears like 1 minute after.

I thought, well maybe it's because the partition it's big, maybe it was indexing or something, so the nex time i let it like 1 hour alone after double clicking "DATA", it showed me my folders but if i double clicked them to open them it would again take forever and get grey (damn..)