PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Intrepid install process can't read partitions



djrobthaman
October 31st, 2008, 03:02 AM
Hi,

I'm trying to install intrepid but I can't because even though gparted reads all my partitions, when I run the install process and get to the partition section I only see an empty window (screenshot attached).

Has anyone encountered this? Any suggestions on how to force it to see my partitions?

Thanks

VMC
October 31st, 2008, 04:42 AM
Yes, somethings wrong with the partitioning program. When I run gparted from LiveCD it shows hard drive but no partitions.

When I try to install either from startup or from after bootup from LiveCd. I get to the partitioning sequence and tell it I want manual. It then shows the entire drive as /dev/sda. It shows NO partitions. I have about 7 partitions.

Disk /dev/sda: 164.6 GB, 164696555520 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 20023 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xfb5ffb5f

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 1306 10490413+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 1307 20023 150344302+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda4 4494 4822 2642692+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda5 1307 2713 11301696 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 2714 4493 14297818+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 4823 16676 95217223+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda8 16677 17951 10241406 83 Linux
/dev/sda9 17952 20023 16643308+ 83 Linux

djrobthaman
October 31st, 2008, 04:51 AM
Okay, so I'm now running intrepid. Here's what I did.



....
...
..
.


I went through the install process BEFORE opening the partition editor. I don't know why, but clearly the fact that I opened it before I got to that stage in the install process just messed up the whole process.

Don't know if that'll be any help to you or anybody else, but I give it to you how it happened.

VMC
November 1st, 2008, 01:38 AM
I'm now also running Ibex. My issue was different. It turned out to be an error with an extended partition. It didn't show its face until I deleted another partitions. Also, two NTFS partitions, one including Windows, had errors. It was a mess, but I have it all squared away.

rameshg87
November 2nd, 2008, 06:31 AM
I think the problem happens because of one or more mounted filesystems on the livecd that has just booted. What I did was I unmounted all the filesystems. Just try if that works for you. For me sda1 was mounted. Run "mount" to see where the partitions are mounted and just unmount those partitions.

$ mount

$ sudo umount -l /mount-point

$ sudo partprobe /dev/sda

naaman
November 2nd, 2008, 09:27 AM
Both the normal and the alternate installation CDs are displaying that they can only see one large 320GB hard disk and are only offering to wipe the whole thing before proceeding further with the install.

I have no disks mounted at the time I am running these installs and I have tried out the unmounting procedures as well..

Hardy detected the Vista partition that is pre-installed by Dell on my machine, what's up with Intrepid??


naaman@perkynana:~$ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for naaman:

Disk /dev/sda: 320.0 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x18000000

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 38587 38914 2620416 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda2 11 1316 10485760 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 * 1316 5754 35648437+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda4 5755 38914 266350820+ f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/sda5 38587 38914 2620416 dd Unknown
/dev/sda6 5755 37263 253096011 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 37264 38586 10626966 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Partition table entries are not in disk order

rameshg87
November 2nd, 2008, 06:07 PM
Did you do this before starting ubuntu install ??

sudo partprobe /dev/sda

naaman
November 3rd, 2008, 09:19 AM
Did you do this before starting ubuntu install ??

sudo partprobe /dev/sda
Sure did, I got a message back about overlapping partitions..

I have just ended up performing a dist-upgrade via the graphical upgrade manager in Hardy instead.
Had to upgrade my BIOS (Dell XPS M1330) to turn off the noisy fan on the NVidia GPU otherwise, Intrepid looks alright.