PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't get my Palm Z22 to sync with Evolution/j-pilot

inearlygaveup
October 30th, 2008, 07:41 PM
I am still fairly new to Linux and have 8.04 Hardy Heron.
My problem is I can't get my Palm Z22 to sync with Evolution/j-pilot after research I think I am missing the vistor module as outlined in the posts below.

My question is how do I input the two instructions.

POST 1
Re: j-pilot problems in Feisty
Evidently the visor module is not being loaded automatically in feisty.

1 - Type "sudo modprobe visor" and then try to sync. It should work at that point.

2 - You can edit the /etc/modules file and add visor to the list to load it at boot.

Martin

jlavezzo
November 7th, 2008, 03:55 PM
I've just upgraded to 8.10 AND just bought a Palm Z22 to replace a Sony Clie PEG something. The Sony never worked with gpilot (something about needing to be compiled into gpilot). At least that's what I accepted. The Clie had problems anyway.

So here I am with a new Palm Z22, visor module in my /etc/modules list, tailing /var/log/messags, watching the visor module attach a converter to both ttyUSB0 and ttyUSB1 BUT gpilot-control-applet still doesn't pick up that I've hit the hotsync button on my palm.

I have the timeout set to 2 as recommended in other posts. I've tried everything I can think of but I'm just not getting any useful feedback from gnome-pilot.

Here are some trimmed log messages:
> usb 2-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 34
> usb 2-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
> visor 2-1:1.0: Handspring Visor / Palm OS converter detected
> usb 2-1: Handspring Visor / Palm OS converter now attached to ttyUSB0
> usb 2-1: Handspring Visor / Palm OS converter now attached to ttyUSB1

Has anyone been successful in syncing a Palm Z22?

thanks

Jeff

plain_jim
November 12th, 2008, 12:58 AM