PDA

View Full Version : HELP Windows to Ubuntu

AaronsDarts
October 30th, 2008, 05:55 PM
Hello im new to ubuntu. i origianly used windows vista and i really hated it. ill give you a little info on whats going on.

Ok my windows vista kept crashing like 12 times in say 15-20 min. just about every time i logged on. then it just stoped fully booting i was able to create a backup disc and then reformated like 3-4 times and that didn't work so i contacted HP since its a HP and there taking my comp and repairing it currently i would like to know if im able to open the back up disc it uses a .exe which will not open and a .fbw file which will not open.

Long story short i have alot of important info on that disc and would like to be able to open it and start using ubuntu as the main OS because i hear alot about it. So could some one please help me with this. PS vista is the worst os ever made.

vikramaditya
October 30th, 2008, 05:57 PM
Don't have any solutions to your dilemma, but you'll get mo' better answers in the Absolute Beginners forum.

Bölvağur
October 30th, 2008, 06:21 PM
What you need to do is:

1. save all your data onto a backup disk.. like a portable hdd or usbkey. SAVE ALL DATA, your data is most important of all.
2. download and burn ubuntu 8.10
3. insert the cd in the cd drive and boot up, make sure all hardware will work (wireless and some graphical cards are not supported on first boot)
4. Partition your hard disk drive * (see below for options), when you know what you want and when you know ubuntu will work
5. boot up the live cd again (the one you burned) and install (according to the partitions you made before)

* When you partition make sure what you know what you are doing. If you want to have both windows and ubuntu then you should dual boot. You can do that by making 1 NTFS partition for windows and then have 1 ext3 and 1 swap partition.
Look up on google and these forums for help, these forums are your best friend.