PDA

View Full Version : A telephone conversation that left me speechless

thomasyen
October 30th, 2008, 03:36 PM
I'm currently a high school student in Taiwan, and a few weeks ago I took part in an English composition competition. Afterwards the judges told me to send them a digital file of my handwritten composition so that they could make a compilation. A few days ago a school administrator called me over the class phone asking about the file I sent him. The following conversation ensued:

I: Hello?
Admin: About your composition...I received the file all right, but what's with this "txt" extension?
I: (slightly surprised) That's plain text.
Admin: I don't know what you mean by that... Can't you just use a Word file (*.doc)?
I: Maybe you could just copy it into Word?
Admin: I don't know about that... (tries) Your endlines are in strange locations. (That's probably because I put the endlines exactly in the places where they were on the original handwritten copy) Just send me a Word file.
I: Okay. (hangs up, still surprised)

Microsoft claims another victim.

MaxIBoy
October 30th, 2008, 03:39 PM
Hide a screamer in it.

HellNoire
October 30th, 2008, 03:39 PM
I've had something worse happen. Someone asked me for a DocX file.

You know, the new format? Downloaded Openoffice.orgKiwi's fix, and turns out the person still couldn't read it, because (get this) he didn't have Office 2007. He thought that he'd be able to open it with no conversion.

He was using MS Office 97 off of Windows 2000.

MaxIBoy
October 30th, 2008, 03:43 PM
I've had something worse happen. Someone asked me for a DocX file.

You know, the new format? Downloaded Openoffice.orgKiwi's fix, and turns out the person still couldn't read it, because (get this) he didn't have Office 2007. He thought that he'd be able to open it with no conversion.

He was using MS Office 97 off of Windows 2000.

That post lives forever in my bookmarks.

mirhciulica
October 30th, 2008, 03:47 PM
That's funny! :-|

thomasyen