PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] [Python] sequences and lists

crazyfuturamanoob
October 27th, 2008, 02:58 PM
I am really not a professional with python. When creating a class, there can be passed a parent argument, like this:

class MyClass(object):
If I want to create an object type which I can handle like a list, how do I do it?
I would like it to be like a normal list/sequence but while having some functions and stuff.
Like this:

>>>a = MyClass([1, 2, 3])
>>>print a
[1, 2, 3]
>>>a.pop(0)
>>>print a
[2, 3]
>>>a.append(16)
>>>for x in a: print x
>>>a.extrafunc()
I know this is possible but can't find anything with google.

y-lee
October 27th, 2008, 03:30 PM
Several ways to do that, but one of the simplest is:

class MyClass(list):

def extrafunc(self):
# whatever
return sum(self)

geirha
October 27th, 2008, 03:31 PM
class MyClass(object): will make the class inherit from the object class, it does not set the arguments for the constructor (__init__). Try inheriting from the list class.

An simple example:

class MyClass(list):
def __init__(self, sequence):
list.__init__(self, sequence)
def extrafunc(self):
return self+self

crazyfuturamanoob
October 27th, 2008, 03:35 PM
What if I want to create the list's content in it's __init__ function?
Will it be like "self = value"?

geirha
October 27th, 2008, 03:46 PM
Almost.

>>> class MyClass(list):
... def __init__(self, sequence):
... list.__init__(self, sequence)
... self.foo= 5
... def extrafunc(self):
... return self+self
>>> a=MyClass([1,2,3])
>>> print a
[1, 2, 3]
>>> print a.foo

crazyfuturamanoob
October 27th, 2008, 03:49 PM
Solved. BTW that was my 50th thanks given :D

pmasiar
October 27th, 2008, 04:19 PM
When creating a class, there can be passed a parent argument, like this:

class MyClass(object):

Wrong. When defining class, you pass it parent **class** (to inherit from) not object.

geirha
October 27th, 2008, 04:27 PM
Wrong. When defining class, you pass it parent **class** (to inherit from) not object.