PDA

View Full Version : Picking up a second language

Flynn555
October 27th, 2008, 01:06 PM
ive been studing C++ in college for about 2 1/2 years now...and now im at the point where i can pick up another language (as an elective) if i want. i have put alot of thought into picking up java because it is derived from C++ and would be easy to pick up ( but what isnt easy after C++?)
but im just not sure..

what do you guys think..

:i listed the available options in the poll..

thx flynn

jespdj
October 27th, 2008, 01:24 PM
The answer depends on what your goals are. I wouldn't invest time in FORTRAN, Pascal or Smalltalk, those are not main stream general-purpose languages (anymore). If you want to learn a programming language that will increase your chances to find a job, then Java is a good choice. If you want to do Linux kernel hacking, learn C.

Your list is missing languages like Python and Ruby. Python is widely used on Ubuntu, many of the desktop applications that you're using on Ubuntu are written in Python.

What do you mean with the choice "Visual"? Is that a programming language? I've never heard of it.

ghostdog74
October 27th, 2008, 01:29 PM
i really think something is wrong.

LaRoza
October 27th, 2008, 01:36 PM
ive been studing C++ in college for about 2 1/2 years now...and now im at the point where i can pick up another language (as an elective) if i want. i have put alot of thought into picking up java because it is derived from C++ and would be easy to pick up ( but what isnt easy after C++?)
but im just not sure..

C++ for 2.5 years? :shock:

What have you taught yourself in the meantime?

sheto
October 27th, 2008, 01:37 PM
I am of the same opinion as jespdj.

LaRoza
October 27th, 2008, 01:39 PM
Your list is missing languages like Python and Ruby. Python is widely used on Ubuntu, many of the desktop applications that you're using on Ubuntu are written in Python.

I think it is the listing of options at the school (weird school though)