PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Completely lost desktop

JesseMat
October 27th, 2008, 03:07 AM
I am running Xubuntu.

I was messing around with the panel settings. I made a new panel, then right-clicked and selected "move." Then all panels disappeared. I decided to reboot, and, like an idiot, did not unselect "save session." Now everytime I log in, it comes up almost completely blank. I have no panels, no background, no icons, the one thing that pops up is that orange (or whatever its called - it's a calendar). I tried some tips on other forums, the problem is they all want me to press <alt><F2>. This doesn't work.

I was able to run in xfce-safe mode, open a terminal and run

xfce4-panel

This got it up, but the terminal was in the way (and I'm not sure if accessing settings will do much good), and the only way to reboot (that I know of) is <ctrl><alt><backspace> and when I log back on normally, I'm back to where I started.

Any suggestions? (I'm on a different computer so I'll be able to respond quickly)

JesseMat
October 27th, 2008, 04:07 AM
Completely lost desktop
I am running Xubuntu.

I was messing around with the panel settings. I made a new panel, then right-clicked and selected "move." Then all panels disappeared. I decided to reboot, and, like an idiot, did not unselect "save session." Now everytime I log in, it comes up almost completely blank. I have no panels, no background, no icons, the one thing that pops up is that orange (or whatever its called - it's a calendar). I tried some tips on other forums, the problem is they all want me to press <alt><F2>. This doesn't work.

I was able to run in xfce-safe mode, open a terminal and run

xfce4-panel

This got it up, but the terminal was in the way (and I'm not sure if accessing settings will do much good), and the only way to reboot (that I know of) is <ctrl><alt><backspace> and when I log back on normally, I'm back to where I started.