PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Hello. Dual Boot issue.

CMR_98823
October 26th, 2008, 04:07 AM
Hello all, I'm new to Ubuntu and these forums.

If this topic has already been posted for this issue, I apologize in advance.

I installed Ubuntu inside Win XP, and it was successful, at least to my knowledge. When I went to reboot and the OS selection screen appears, I select Ubuntu, but all that happens is my system will reboot again back to the OS selection screen.

Can anyone assist me and getting Ubuntu to boot successfully?

TIA

- Roberts

melojo
October 26th, 2008, 04:40 AM
try this
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#Cannot%20boot%20into%20Ubuntu

If Wubi fails to start, boot into windows, run chkdsk /r from windows on the same drive where you have installed Ubuntu, shutdown cleanly and then try to boot into Ubuntu again

CMR_98823
October 26th, 2008, 08:16 AM
I tried doing this, and it worked...kinda.

When it was finished scanning and rebooted, it came up to the OS selection screen. After I selected Ubuntu, an error occurred, didn't give me enough time to write down the error.

But then when it started loading Ubuntu, it came to a screen to enter a command, and I wasn't sure what command to put in, then I just rebooted and now I'm at square one again...does this possibly mean I'll have to restart the whole process?

TIA

- Roberts

CMR_98823
October 26th, 2008, 08:26 PM
Hello again, I am still having problems with booting.

I did however, uninstall Ubuntu to retry.

I tried booting from the disc and it still will not allow me to select Ubuntu. Could it be possible that the disc I made is corrupt? I downloaded the ISO file from Ubuntu and mounted it to a CD-R.

Any help much appreciated.

TIA

- Roberts

melojo
October 30th, 2008, 06:37 AM
its possible that it is corrupt, try burning at a slower speed. I have some sony 700 mb cd's that for some reason will not burn the 8.04 iso, but I can use a dvd and it works fine.

CMR_98823