PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Dual Boot - Grub Will Not Show Up

sunkssss
October 25th, 2008, 09:08 PM
Hello All,

I've spent all morning and afternoon trying to get a dual boot setup with Windows XP. I have XP installed, and have tried installing Ubuntu four times already, and have a feel it's time to ask for some assistance. I have installed Ubuntu before, and have had dual boot setup on this computer before, however I just can't get it to work this time.

I am a pretty big noob, so from what I'm observing my Ubuntu partitions will just not mount. After installation I'll boot using the live CD (since otherwise it just boots straight to XP) and looking at the partitions they're marked (do not use partition). I don't know why setup is doing this, since I clearly am marking the mount points and file systems correctly.

By correctly, I mean I have 2GB swap and 30GB / ext3 partitions. I have tried having a 50Mb /boot partition along with the other two, and the last time I attempted setup I just tried using "use largest continuous free space" instead of trying a manual partition, however I'm still booting straight to XP.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

caljohnsmith
October 25th, 2008, 09:25 PM
When you get to the last screen in the installation process where there is an "advanced" button, are you clicking that and changing the default setting of where to install Grub? Also, open up a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal), and please post:

sudo fdisk -lu
sudo dd if=/dev/sda count=1 2>/dev/null | strings | grep -ie grub -ie "missing operating system"

And we can work from there. :)

sunkssss
October 25th, 2008, 09:46 PM
I have not been clicking the advanced button, because I never had to before. Perhaps that has been the problem, however if I'm not going to be using the default setting what should I be changing it to?

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo fdisk -lu

Disk /dev/sda: 120.0 GB, 120034123776 bytes