PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Screen Resolution

wyrfxrssn
October 25th, 2008, 02:27 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu, and my graphics card isn't compatible with it. I have Ubuntu 8.04. I wanted effects on my computer, so whenever I enabled my graphics card to use them everything started looking messed, but when it wasn't enable they were fine. Then my friend who knows more about it downloaded something to try and fix the messed-up-ness. It did not work. And now, when the graphics card isn't enabled, my biggest screen resolution is 800x600. Help?

overdrank
October 25th, 2008, 06:47 AM
I'm new to Ubuntu, and my graphics card isn't compatible with it. I have Ubuntu 8.04. I wanted effects on my computer, so whenever I enabled my graphics card to use them everything started looking messed, but when it wasn't enable they were fine. Then my friend who knows more about it downloaded something to try and fix the messed-up-ness. It did not work. And now, when the graphics card isn't enabled, my biggest screen resolution is 800x600. Help?

Hi and welcome, you can try and boot into recovery mode which is usually the second choice from the grub and use the xfix option to correct the graphics.
What is the model of the graphics card?

wyrfxrssn
October 29th, 2008, 02:50 AM
IT just says NVidia accelerated graphics driver in hardware drivers.

tuxxy
October 29th, 2008, 02:57 AM
Follow overdranks advice and fix the issue first, you could also reconfigure the xorg from terminal using the following command

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Now another option once back to normal is download envyng-gtk from the repos and see if this is any better at installing the correct drivers.

sudo apt-get install envyng-gtk

It would be very helpful to know your nvidia card model, you could navigate to applications > system tools > sys info > nvidia which should display the model

suncoolsu
October 29th, 2008, 06:01 AM