PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] problem with everything..

CrazyEye941
October 24th, 2008, 05:13 PM
Hey, I'm really new to Ubuntu and its completely different from windows.

I can connect to the internet right.

Boots correctly

Sounds are good

Graphics - SLOW (I have an XFX 8800GT *new* with 2gb of DDR2 Memory so I dont know why its running slow on the internet and .gifs)

Flash player doesn't work, I tried installing but the install was a .deb, I googled it and was told to open the terminal and type "dpkg -i filename.deb" and with filename i put the location of the file.

Random Crashes.

I would really like some help with ubuntu because I know that if I learn more about this OS I would like to stay here rather then go to windows.

ammikulka
October 24th, 2008, 05:19 PM
For your graphics card you probably need to install the correct driver

go to

system >> Administration >> Hardware Drivers

and check the box next to your graphics card name

edit* with .debs all you need to do is double click on them then it will open up a program to install it

CrazyEye941
October 24th, 2008, 05:27 PM
For your graphics card you probably need to install the correct driver

go to

system >> Administration >> Hardware Drivers

and check the box next to your graphics card name

edit* with .debs all you need to do is double click on them then it will open up a program to install it

I get this error "ERROR: Wrong architecure'i386'"

I clicked hardware drivers and it says "NVIDIA accelerated graphic driver (latest cards)" but I already had that installed and its still messing up and showing artifacts (Open up firefox it flashes static for a brief second) I went to the nvidia website to download the drivers but when I dbl click the .run file it says "choose a program" and from the desktop it says "could not open the file /home/crazyeye/Desktop/N…Linux-x86-177.80-pkg1.run."

I'm doing something wrong aren't I -.-"

ammikulka
October 24th, 2008, 05:42 PM