PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] tor - If it works why isn't the world stealing music freely?

methodmarvel
October 23rd, 2008, 10:42 PM
Sorry for putting this in the wrong place - please move me?

I've found videos on youtube about a program called tor which hides your IP address.

I was just wondering, if tor works, why people don't use it when they torrent music? Surely it would mean they couldn't be identified or caught?

Basically I'm interested in whether it's lack of "thief education" or whether it's full of flaws.

mikewhatever
October 23rd, 2008, 10:45 PM
Absolute beginners section,:confused: have you noticed?

DGortze380
October 23rd, 2008, 10:47 PM
I need to look more into how this actually works, but regaurdless ultimately the thing that convicts most of the copyright infringement cases is forensic evidence.

Take a step back and think about it logically for a minute, it's impossible to totally hide your IP address 100% of the time. If your IP was not used, and stored, at some point, by some device (realistically, at a number of points, by a number of devices), TCP would not function.

Simplicius
October 23rd, 2008, 10:47 PM
I was just wondering, if tor works, why people don't use it when they torrent music? Surely it would mean they couldn't be identified or caught?

Actually, I understand that a lot of people do use it for that. But I think it is considered to be bad manners. Tor was created for a different purpose AFAIK. For instance, think about a news reporter in a hostile place trying to get information out without being caught.

Sub101
October 23rd, 2008, 10:48 PM
Looks like an interesting project and agree with your view based on my quick research. Perhaps the reason is that no-one knows about it? Or their conscience prevents them?

methodmarvel
October 23rd, 2008, 10:48 PM
Absolute beginners section,:confused: have you noticed?

Well it's kind of a beginners question - I mean I don't know anything about this.

aeiah
October 23rd, 2008, 11:28 PM