PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems with Xfe (and fox)

Markstar
October 23rd, 2008, 02:20 PM
Hi,
I am new to Ubuntu and someone here recommended me Xfe as a file manager and it seemed to be exactly what I was looking for and imho far superior to Nautilus or common NC-clones like Midnight Commander.

Now I would like to upgrade to the most recent version of Xfe, but I have run into a few problems.
I followed the the Xfe documentation and checked in the Synaptic Package Manager if libfox was installed (it was) and installed libfox-dev. Then I downloaded the latest xfe version (xfe-1.19.2.tar.gz), unpacked it and ran ./configure, make and make install int the directory. Everything finished without errors, but when I run xfe from the console now, it says

$ xfe
Error: Failed to load switchpanels.png icon. Please check your icon path...
Error: Failed to load syncpanels.png icon. Please check your icon path...
Error: Failed to load newlink.png icon. Please check your icon path...
in the console. At the startup of xfe I then get the error message:

Error loading icons

Unable to load some icons. Please check your icons path!:(
This is all version 1.19.2. However, I have noticed that if I run
/usr/bin/xfe, I get xfe version 1.04. :confused:

What did I do wrong? Where is the new xfe located?

Thank you in advance!

Kind regards
Markstar

kerry_s
October 23rd, 2008, 02:53 PM
did you check synaptic if you removed the old one first?

sudo apt-get install --purge remove xfe

Markstar
October 23rd, 2008, 03:51 PM
did you check synaptic if you removed the old one first?

sudo apt-get install --purge remove xfeWhen I enter this command I get:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package remove
...and xfe 1.04 still starts...

kerry_s
October 23rd, 2008, 04:34 PM
When I enter this command I get:

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done