PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 8.04 Live CD goes gray on new Sony VAIO laptop



rondomatic
October 21st, 2008, 08:14 PM
I've used the 8.04 Live CD to successfully install Ubuntu on several computers. I recently bought a Sony VAIO (VGNFW series) with a 9:16 screen ratio. The Live CD starts normally, I choose install Ubuntu, and the boot splash appears normally as well. Midway through the loading my screen displays a gray mottled color that slowly morphs into a solid gray. I can hear the Ubuntu startup music but cannot see anything to work with. Has anyone else encountered this strange phenomenon?

Misz
December 10th, 2008, 04:23 AM
I am having the same exact issue. Sony VAIO VGN-FW235J trying to run the 8.10 Live CD.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Misz
December 17th, 2008, 02:59 AM
I was able to get the 8.10 Live CD to work by using F4 to go into alternative setup & choosing graphics safe mode. It's only 800X600 resolution but this is a start at least...

Thanks

mrbiggbrain
December 17th, 2008, 03:49 AM
Sony uses ALOT of proprietary hardware, that sometimes can be used with linux, sometimes cant.

i use a Sony Vaio VGN-C120E(/W i think) with ubuntu 8.10 (now kubuntu) it runs the intel 965 (AKA X3100) with a max of 336mb shared ram, on a regular plug and play monitor. and the only issues iv had is with compiz-fusion.

try maybe running 8.10 (its not a long terms support structure, but it works) it may have the drivers, ect needed to boot where you need it.

Misz
December 18th, 2008, 05:35 PM
On my Sony VAIO VGN-FW235J I got it working with the 8.10 install CD using the below steps:

1. At the main install menu use F4 to go into alternative setup & choose graphics safe mode & then proceed with the install.

2. Once Ubuntu is installed, download the file: http://launchpadlibrarian.net/19868825/intel%20driver%20fix.tar.gz

3. Once the file is downloaded, extract the Intel folder & you'll find 3 installer packages that all have the .deb extension. Double click>install each one (for me one of them said reinstall instead of install but I reinstalled it anyway)

4. Once the packages are installed, close everything & open up a terminal window & type 'sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf', find the spot that says the Driver is "vesa" & change it to say the Driver is "intel". Save the file (ctrl+x).

5. Restart the PC & you should be able to get higher resolutions now

:KSBIG THANKS:KS to the posters of thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=996395&highlight=vaio who got it figured out on similar SONY VAIO models.

akhayat
December 27th, 2008, 01:32 PM
On my Sony VAIO VGN-FW235J I got it working with the 8.10 install CD using the below steps:

1. At the main install menu use F4 to go into alternative setup & choose graphics safe mode & then proceed with the install.

2. Once Ubuntu is installed, download the file: http://launchpadlibrarian.net/19868825/intel%20driver%20fix.tar.gz

3. Once the file is downloaded, extract the Intel folder & you'll find 3 installer packages that all have the .deb extension. Double click>install each one (for me one of them said reinstall instead of install but I reinstalled it anyway)

4. Once the packages are installed, close everything & open up a terminal window & type 'sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf', find the spot that says the Driver is "vesa" & change it to say the Driver is "intel". Save the file (ctrl+x).

5. Restart the PC & you should be able to get higher resolutions now

:KSBIG THANKS:KS to the posters of thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=996395&highlight=vaio who got it figured out on similar SONY VAIO models.

I downloaded the 3 installers but when i try install two of them it says "Error: Wrong architecture 'i386'"

I have a VGN-FW250J/H--do i have to download a different driver?

Misz
December 31st, 2008, 03:02 PM
I'm not sure on that one.

In this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...highlight=vaio I found this link https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xserver-xorg-video-intel/+bug/268615 that has more drivers you could try.

Also, you could try to search these forums for the error "Error: Wrong architecture 'i386" & see what you come up with.