PDA

View Full Version : What do you use your secondary monitor for?

Acoshi
October 21st, 2008, 04:07 AM
Since I am new to the dual monitor setup I just put my bittorrent downloads, terminal, and system monitor.
Out of curiosity I was wondering what other people use their secondary monitor for.

simtaalo
October 21st, 2008, 04:15 AM
depends what im doing, sometimes i have browser in one screen and IM with chat windows in the other, sometimes torrent client. sometimes i have browser and IM on one screen and a movie running in the other.

when im actually doing work though i can have an audacity window on each screen making it easier to do stuff between them.

wd5gnr
October 21st, 2008, 04:15 AM
Depends. At home I usually have my e-mail on one screen and the browser on the other. At work I usually have WebEx (well it is sort of WebEx; long story) on one screen while I am actually working on the other.

When I am writing or editing, I usually have the word processor on one screen and either another document on the other screen or a browser.

When programming, the other screen has the help.

Right at this moment I have a VirtualBox VM running Windows XP (ugh) in full screen. The seamless mode is good in VirtualBox but does not work well with dual monitors.

scragar
October 21st, 2008, 04:17 AM
I had 2 monitors for a short while after my main monitor broke(got a nice replacement one, figured I'd try running them both), I didn't actualy use it for much, I wanted to run video's in one and other stuff in the other, but that never worked out, every time I started a video and moved it onto the second desktop I forgot about it :p

If I get a better monitor for spare than the one I was using I might try again, I think it will be handier than me using multiple workspaces in my current way, but I can't see any benifits for myself right now.

kk0sse54
October 21st, 2008, 04:21 AM