PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NVIDIA FX5200 VGA card driver problem ..

amr_essam
October 20th, 2008, 09:25 PM
Dear there,

i have a problem that's really annoying me
first of all , i have ubuntu 8.04 desktop version and i installed it inside windows.
but when i logged into it , the VGA driver wasn't recognized and the system told me that it has a driver for it :

- before i install this driver , the resolution was 800x600 , and i wasn't able to activate the high visual effects

-after i installed it , the resolution was reduced to 640x480 and the option of 800x600 disappeared but i can activate visual effects

please if anyone can tell me what i have to do , note that it's my first time on ubuntu

Thanks in advance

OuT.Law
October 20th, 2008, 09:55 PM
Dear there,

i have a problem that's really annoying me
first of all , i have ubuntu 8.04 desktop version and i installed it inside windows.
but when i logged into it , the VGA driver wasn't recognized and the system told me that it has a driver for it :

- before i install this driver , the resolution was 800x600 , and i wasn't able to activate the high visual effects

-after i installed it , the resolution was reduced to 640x480 and the option of 800x600 disappeared but i can activate visual effects

please if anyone can tell me what i have to do , note that it's my first time on ubuntu

Thanks in advance

I was just about to start a new topic about this problem cuz i have the same :(

after some research on the internet i found this :

start the terminal and login as a root and type this "displayconfig-gtk" (without quotes) a display wizard should start and from there you can change the display resolution BUT when i change it to 1024.768 @70Hz the monitor turned of (i have a CMD LCD monitor 1280x1024).