PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Check this little chunk of Python code. What's wrong?

Brain-free
October 19th, 2008, 08:05 PM
I'm new to Python language and I'm doing some exercises to get more familiar with it. Part of them is making a code that passes this doctest. My problem is with the last part of the doctest, where it checks if the initial list has changed in the course of the program. It always fails, even though I'm careful not to alias the lists involved. The code is here:

def add_column(matrix):
"""
>>> m = [[0, 0], [0, 0]]
>>> add_column(m)
[[0, 0, 0], [0, 0, 0]]
>>> n = [[3, 2], [5, 1], [4, 7]]
>>> add_column(n)
[[3, 2, 0], [5, 1, 0], [4, 7, 0]]
>>> n
[[3, 2], [5, 1], [4, 7]]
"""
a = matrix[:]
for i in range(len(a)):
a[i] += [0]
return a

if __name__ == '__main__':
import doctest
doctest.testmod()

After one very frustrating hour I noticed that if I change the line "a[i] += [0]" to "a[i] = a[i] + [0]", it passes the doctest.

So my question is this: What justifies this behavior? Since a isn't aliased with matrix, how can this happen?

y-lee
October 19th, 2008, 08:57 PM
Hmm interesting another python gotta :)

The way i see this is you are passing a list containing lists to the function add_column. The statement a = matrix[:] copies the values of what matrix contains to a. BUT what matrix contains is references to three lists, in the case of calling add_column(n) with n = [[3, 2], [5, 1], [4, 7]]. Only the references to the three lists [3,2] and [5,1] and [4,7] are copied into a not the values of these list. So your statement a[i] += [0] actually is changing these three list which are the same three list contained in n.

But if you change a[i] += [0] to a[i] =a[i]+[0]
then the new a[i] is set to a[i]+[0] which is a newly created list. and hence a ends up with all new lists and n remains unchanged.

A bit confusing but I think that is it.:)

BackwardsDown
October 19th, 2008, 09:07 PM
y-lee: