PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installed, but XP is the only OS recognized

mmyers
October 19th, 2008, 03:55 PM
I am new to the Linux world and installed 8.0.4 on my Win XP Service pack 3 machine. in the ubuntu guided setup, i chose to make my XP partition into 50% XP and 50% ubuntu. The ubuntu installation completed successfully, however the PC always boots into XP and i never get any sort of prompt for which OS i would like.

i searched the forums and i honestly can't follow all the GRUB explanations. I think i am 90% on the way to being able to use ubuntu if i could just get some help in allowing it to boot from my primary drive.

and yes, i need to keep XP on the machine for some apps that i run, so removing xp is not an option at this time.

thanks to anyone who can help me sort this out.

Mike

caljohnsmith
October 19th, 2008, 04:09 PM
OK, how about first booting your Live CD again, open a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal), and do:

sudo grub
grub> find /boot/grub/stage1
grub> find /grub/stage1
One of the above commands should return your Ubuntu partition in the form of (hdX,Y) where X and Y are numbers, for example (hd0,4), but use whatever it returns as follows:

grub> root (hdX,Y)
grub> setup (hdX)
grub> quit
Please post the output of the above commands, and also:

sudo fdisk -lu
If the above Grub commands complete successfully, try rebooting and let me know what happens. :)

mmyers
October 20th, 2008, 12:52 AM
ok, i followed your instructions and it came up with hd2,4.

i performed all the commands and rebooted and was presented with the choice of OSes on my box.

BUT...when i selected ubuntu (the first item listed) it gave me Error 22 : No Such Partition

We're almost there...

thanks for your help so far.

caljohnsmith
October 20th, 2008, 01:04 AM
Please read my instructions carefully, it would help if you would still post:

sudo fdisk -lu
Also, when you used the grub "setup" command, did you use "setup (hd2)"?