PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] first time -- having trouble

jasminee
October 17th, 2008, 07:46 PM
Hi. I'd like to try this out. I downloaded the 8.04 i386 live version , made a cd up, and restarted the machine, but the cd wouldn't boot, it just took me to windows as usual.

I don't think it even scanned the disc. So I changed the bios startup options to boot from cd first, and it did scan the disc, but that didn't work either, and not even windows would load - it just kept prompting me for a boot file. Then i tried disconnecting the hard disk and seeing if it forced it to look at the disc, which didn't work either.

So I put it all back to normal and returned to windows.

Trying to load the umenu.exe in windows which gave me a message box titled "CD Menu" with the message "CD is invalid."

I can read the cd and see logos and text files in the directories, which look uncorrupted, so I don't know what the problem is.

Can somebody guide me. I've never used linux before.

System I'm using for this us:
MSI K7T266 with AMD 1.4GHZ ; 256MB memory ; 8MB graphics

Elfy
October 17th, 2008, 08:15 PM
I would first of all check that the md5sum for the download is ok - information to do so from windows here - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BurningIsoHowto

There is a also integrity check for the cd to ensure it has burnt properly - https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/CDIntegrityCheck

You will need your pc to boot from cd first to use the burnt image.

BUT you haven't got enough memory to run the ubuntu livecd if that si what you are trying to use - try xubuntu

At least 256 MB of RAM is required to run the alternate install CD (384MB of RAM is required to use the live CD based installer).ubuntu minimum requirements

ilrudie
October 17th, 2008, 08:20 PM