PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trying to install 8.04 on USB hard drive

viper1965
October 16th, 2008, 04:20 AM
I'm pretty new to linux, and would like to install 8.04 on my external Western Digital 500 Gb hard drive. I would like to be able to plug in the hd, boot, and be in Ubuntu. When I want Vista, unplug the usb, reboot, and be in Vista.

I blindly installed Ubuntu, putting it on the usb hd, the boot manager (forget what it's called) on the internal drive, and booted to Ubuntu with no problem. When I booted to Vista, it was trashed.

I read an old post on here that said never put the boot manager on the internal hd, so tonight I put it on the usb, booted, and ubuntu said something like can't boot to the partition. I tried using the whole hd as a single partition, and making two separate ones. The computer is a Sony Vaio laptop with 2 Gb RAM. Its BIOS does support booting from an usb hd.

Please help,

Thanks,

Viper1965

rashhashan
October 16th, 2008, 05:41 AM
hey man im trying to do the same thing except with a 4 or an 8 Gb thumb...please tell me when you find out

btw i hope this helps you out

http://www.pcmech.com/article/ubuntu-804-persistent-install-to-usb-stick/

</break>

caljohnsmith
October 16th, 2008, 05:22 PM
Viper1965, while you have your USB drive connected, boot your Live CD, open a terminal (applications > accessories > terminal) and please post:

sudo fdisk -lu
Also, for each of the drives fdisk lists, like sda, sdb, etc, please post the output of:

sudo dd if=/dev/sda count=1 2>/dev/null | strings | grep -ie grub -ie "missing operating system"
So replace "sda" above with each of your drives. And finally, for each command above that returns "GRUB", please post:

sudo dd if=/dev/sda bs=1 skip=1049 count=2 2>/dev/null | hexdump
And replace sda with the drives that previously returned "GRUB". That will greatly clarify what your present setup is as far as booting goes. :)

C.S.Cameron
October 16th, 2008, 08:02 PM