PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Newbie trying to switch to Ubuntu

Markstar
October 15th, 2008, 06:29 PM
Hi,
while I do consider myself an expert when it comes to computer hardware and Windows (I'm a computer scientist), I only just now began to take a look at the Linux world and I am struggling to get comfortable.

As I imagine that there are many people like me who are fed up with a bloated OS and constant threats from viruses, I thought I try to write one thread with all my issues and go from there. More complicated problems may require me to open up seperate threads but I imagine some things can be answered pretty quickly. Alright, here we go:

Top Priority

• Graphic driver for ATI 4870

∘ Problem #1.1: Installing via Synaptic didn't work (can't run native resolution of 1920*1600)

‣ download package from http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/
∘ Problem #2: Can't do anything with .run file

‣ right-click on file in file browser -> Permissions tab:
‣ Check "Allow executing file as program"
∘ Problem #3: ati-driver-installer....run must be run as super user - how does a newbie do that?

‣ [terminal] navigate to downloaded file, then: sudo ./ati...

• log file: /usr/share/ati
• advanced configuration: [terminal] aticonfig
∘ Problem #1.2: Still not the correct resolution, Desktop effect can also not be enabled

‣ driver needs to be enabled in System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers
∘ Issues left:

‣ Reduce frequency
‣ Movies flicker!!! :(
‣ My 2nd monitor (also DVI) does not work correctly (in Windows, the 1st monitor is 1920*1200, the 2nd is 1024*1280 (90° rotated)).
• Automatic CPU frequency adjustment for AMD 4850e To save energy and reduce heat...

∘ [task bar] Add to Panel...

‣ CPU Frequency Scaling Monitor
∘ Issue left

‣ Only goes down to 1 GHz (5x) instead of 800 MHz (4x)
‣ Adjust voltage?
• Fan speed for Jetway HA06 (780G chipset) It works under Windows, but I can't get it to work under Ubuntu.

∘ install lm-sensors