PDA

View Full Version : Is FreeBSD overkill for a laptop?

HuBaghdadi
October 15th, 2008, 01:00 PM
Hey,
Do you think that FreeBSD is an over kill OS for laptops?
My friends keep telling me that FreeBSD will cause me headaches, no good support for Bluetooth, WiFi, audio, video ...
(I'm a developer, I use JDK, Python, Apache, PostgreSQL ...)
Thanks.

johnidi
October 15th, 2008, 02:16 PM
are you planning on switching over from ubuntu? If anything why dont you just try the live cd and find out for your self?

HuBaghdadi
October 15th, 2008, 02:20 PM
I don't think FreeBSD 7 has a live CD.

perfecttao
October 15th, 2008, 02:23 PM
Personally I'd install VirtualBox and run FreeBSD (command line only) in that. FreeBSD is notorious for not being great with various hardware and needing loads of config time....getting bluetooth/wifi etc working well will probably cause you headaches...

Sorivenul
October 15th, 2008, 02:30 PM
I've used FreeBSD on multiple laptops with no problems of sound, resolution, wireless, etc. It does require more configuration than Ubuntu, but that's something that can be said for almost any system other than Ubuntu.

Check here for a FreeBSD HCL (http://www.freebsd.org/releases/7.0R/hardware.html).

HuBaghdadi
October 15th, 2008, 02:39 PM
I've used FreeBSD on multiple laptops with no problems of sound, resolution, wireless, etc. It does require more configuration than Ubuntu, but that's something that can be said for almost any system other than Ubuntu.

Check here for a FreeBSD HCL (http://www.freebsd.org/releases/7.0R/hardware.html).
It does require more configuration than Ubuntu, but that's something that can be said for almost any system other than Ubuntu.
would you please tell us like what? and how to get help if I'm stuck?

HuBaghdadi
October 15th, 2008, 02:40 PM

And you are using Ubuntu and FreeBSD, what are the advantages of Ubuntu over FreeBSD 7 (and vice versa)?

Sorivenul
October 15th, 2008, 03:39 PM