PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of starting an Ubuntu/Linux newb youtube channel

cryptk
October 15th, 2008, 03:40 AM
So I have been thinking about starting a youtube channel. make videos of how to do some common things, starting with a video showing how to install it (I know, simple, but it would be targeted at the beginner). Then make a video (or several) on desktop customization. A video on how to install software from the repos (using aptitude, apt-get, synaptic, cover all the bases).

So, this post is here for me to find out, what would YOU, the absolute beginner, want to see a video on?

Is there some cool linux trick that you have heard of, and want to be able to do, but don't know how to implement it?

Anything at all...

here are the ideas that I have so far

1. Fresh install
2. install software from the repos
3. desktop customization
4. set up the conky system monitor
5. compile software from the source
6. save power on your laptop (longer battery life)
7. optimize your boot (so you can watch my videos faster)
8. compile a CUSTOM KERNEL... oh noes...
9. I could make a video on how to install and configure pretty much any piece of software you need

anything else that you guys would like to see?

cryptk
October 15th, 2008, 03:44 AM
another thing I just thought of, If there is a tutorial or a walkthrough on this forum somewhere, and you would like to see it in video form, let me know. I could easily do the process needed, and then make a video of it being done.

JoshuaRL
October 15th, 2008, 03:53 AM
You might start working your way through the Tutorial of the Day in the Tutorials sub-forum. Lot of good stuff there, about 40 I think.

eternalnewbee
October 15th, 2008, 03:54 AM
There is, here:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation

cryptk
October 15th, 2008, 04:32 AM
I know we have directions on how to install Ubuntu, but I figured that it would be appropriate to start my Youtube channel about Ubuntu where Ubuntu starts... with the install.

cryptk