PDA

View Full Version : Should I try another distro?

Hygelac
November 25th, 2005, 02:13 AM
Hello. I'm fairly new to Linux and have recently installed Ubuntu on one of my computers, but have had a lot of hardware problems with it (No need to go into details here; but the floppy drive, floppy controller, and dial-up modem don't work at all; and the mouse, keyboard, and graphics card work only occasionally and/or partially. There may be other things that don't work too that I haven't tested yet. Also, the monitor only loaded in 640x480 at first, but I fixed that).

I am wondering if, in your opinion(s), I should do everything I possibly can to get this hardware working with Ubuntu, or if I should try a different distro first and see how it handles out-of-the-box.

For reference, the computer is relatively old (Compaq Presario with an AMD K6 processor of about 300MHz, 188Mb RAM, 15Gb and 4Gb hardrives), if that could make a difference. I also run Damn Small Linux on this computer as a LiveCD (most of the hardware works out-of-box, except for the modem, USB pendrive, and possibly ethernet card and graphics card), and ran it from the hard drive prior to installing Ubuntu.

Of course, for those who may think that I should try another distro, I'm quite interested to know your suggestions, especially if you're familiar with this kind of situation.

dolson
November 25th, 2005, 02:41 AM
I would try to work with someone here to get things working and submit the problem reports to make things better in the future of Ubuntu.

I came from Debian, where I had to do everything myself, to Ubuntu, and it is very slick, and I think that finally there is a distro that is doing everything right for the desktop. I believe in Ubuntu.