PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Install frozen?

Scurge
October 14th, 2008, 05:50 PM
I recently got fed up with ******* crashing and decided to nuke my hard drive and install ubuntu. I ran DBAN and wiped the HD clean. However when DBAN finished it said "finished with non-fatal errors. this may be caused by bad sectors on the HD" since there was nothing on the HD, I couldn't figure out how big or how many bad sectors there were. Keep in mind I am a novice with computers as far as setting up an OS or the technicalities of such. (a tech might say that i know just enough to seriously screw things up.) This is not to say that i dont know my way around computers at all, i've been computing since the days of the 286 and I was a DOS junkie all the way up till ******* '98. (lol even then I fought the transitiion tooth and nail.) before I get to the problem I feel that I should say that I have limited C++ expierence, and have a general understanding of command syntax and very limited expierence using a unix shell. Basically i can understand the gist of the tech speak, but I may ask for a more detailed explaination of some terms and techniques. Anyway, on to my problem. Oh yeah, and my box specs.. It's an older factory built HP pavilion with an intel 1.4 Ghz processor and a 60gig HD and 1 gig of ram (i think, or maybe 512Mb) I edited the bios to check the a: (floppy) drive then the d: (CD) drive, then the HD to boot. The version of Ubuntu I am trying to install is: ubuntu-8.04.1-desktop-i386.