PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu - Increasing space

jamal6008
October 14th, 2008, 05:09 PM
Hi

I am very new to ubuntu. I installed ubuntu through windows and gave 8GB available to it. Now its full and I want to increase it. Is there any way to do it except installing it all over again? Ubuntu is on different drive than windows and I have also freed up around 30GB on the drive ubuntu is, I just need ubuntu to associate that 30GB as its space.

Please help me

Thanks

BobJoe
October 14th, 2008, 09:22 PM
sure, i had to do the same thing. now this entirely depends on the windows you have. if you have xp, get a 3rd party program like partition magic. if you have vista, just right click on the computer and click manage. resize the windows partition by however much. when it finishes (dont try jumping the gun), you need to reboot and start windows again (sometimes programs have boot stuff you have to do). then you need the original ubuntu live cd. this is because ubuntu locks its hard drive (dunno why). either burn one or find your previous one. the more recent the better. on the live cd, go to system > adminstration > gparted or partition editor. then just expand your ubuntu hard drive to however much. gparted is nightmarishly slow, so 30gb might take overnight. :)

Victormd
October 14th, 2008, 09:30 PM
I think his is a Wubi install, not a normal dual boot.
If it is in fact a Wubi install, Ubuntu is installed on a "virtual drive" kind of like a program in windows, so you would need to reinstall and set the HD to the size you want (BobJoe's post won't work in this case) - Someone please correct me if I'm wrong.

If it's a dual boot, then follow BobJoe's post...

jamal6008
October 14th, 2008, 09:57 PM