PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Kernel Panic on boot load

decipher
October 13th, 2008, 10:15 PM
Howdy all

I'm relatively new to linux and have been loving the Ubuntu experience.
Recently I've been checking out the other distro's and decided to give Fedora a try.

I installed Fedora, which took over my grub boot menu, which meant I could not load Ubuntu. :( From within Fedora, I can see my partitioned drive that contains Ubuntu.

OK so basically I took the boot drive details from my ubuntu menu.lst file and put them in Fedora's grub.conf file.
I also changed Fedora's default value as well as commenting out the splashimage and hiddenmenu lines within the grub.conf file.

So, now the previous ubuntu grub menu loads, I select the ubuntu version I wish to load, the ubuntu splash screen displays, the loading bar goes back and forth, and then freezes.

I reboot, wait for the grub menu to load, highlight the Ubuntu option, press e and edit the kernel entry, to remove the "quiet" and "splash" options so i can see whats going on. Press b to boot and now linux is telling me what it's trying to load. ... loads drivers and wot not, but gets to a point and freezes:

/init: /init: 184: cannot open /root/dev/console: No such file
... Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempting to kill init!

Ubuntu (Hardy) loaded just fine before I stuck fedora on there. I've given up, i'm beat, i'm not sure what else I can do to resolve this, other than fresh ubuntu install.
Any suggestions? :popcorn:

WWSmith36
October 13th, 2008, 10:47 PM
Its ok to allow Fedoras grub to handle the booting. I would restore whatever edits you did to fedoras boot menu and then add this line for ubuntu

I would recommend booting ubuntu with a with this type of edit which will call ubuntus menu.lst file

title Ubuntu Hardy
configfile (hdx,y)/boot/grub/menu.lst

where (hdx,y) is your Ubuntu partition.