PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Upgrading to 8.04 from 7.04

venkat.raman
October 13th, 2008, 08:53 AM
hi all

i am quite new to ubuntu, currently i am using 7.04 dual booting with XP.

just got my hands on an 8.04 install disk.

sorry if below questions sounds stupid

i am wondering if it would be possible to upgrade from 7.04 directly to 8.04 (similar to windows) or i have to completely remove 7.04 and install 8.04 fresh. triple booting xp/7.04/8.04 doesnt look quite ok to me

in case i have to install 8.04 fresh, could you please suggest a way of going about it as i am extremely leery of losing my current set up which works just well? i have not seen any thing in the web giving instructions upgrading from 7.04-8.04.

thanks

mpierce
October 13th, 2008, 09:27 AM
No you don't read the FAQ as it tells you how. I use kubuntu so don't know how on ubuntu. I did it.

venkat.raman
October 13th, 2008, 10:13 AM
sorry, but i am not able to understand your message.

anyway are you talking about the FAQ in the upgrade page (www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrade)? i have seen there, it only shows how to upgrade from 7.10 to 8.04 among others.

could you also tell me how you did in kubuntu? i suppose the same would hold good for ubuntu too.

thanks

Partyboi2
October 13th, 2008, 10:21 AM
You would need to upgrade feisty(7.04) to gusty(7.10) then to hardy(8.04.1), you would not be able to skip 7.10. Always a good practice to backup before upgrading just incase.
Make sure that your feisty installation has all the current updates before upgrading and that you disable all 3rd party repos in Software Sources (System>Admin>Software Sources)

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/linux/upgrade-ubuntu-from-feisty-to-gutsy/
http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/upgrading

venkat.raman
October 13th, 2008, 11:18 AM
ah yes, upgrading to 7.10 and then to 8.04;

using the upgrade manager gave me a dialog that i need to download 950mb of data!!!