PDA

View Full Version : Learning Ubuntu - Best Practices

SirReel
October 13th, 2008, 03:31 AM
Hello!
I was just looking to hear the opinions of the experts on what steps you used when you first began the journey of learning Ubuntu and Linux in general?

I am finding that hands-on experience along with reading the advice of the experts in this forum as well as reading a book on Ubuntu Linux is a good first step.

I was wondering what those of you who walked this path before would recommend in terms of best practices for becoming an expert in Linux and Ubuntu?

A little about my goals - I would truly like to not only learn Ubuntu, but also master Linux at the command line level.

Your insights would be greatly appreciated, and thanks for helping us new guys out! :)

Jackelope
October 13th, 2008, 03:35 AM
try installing conky....i'm no expert but it taught me a lot :)

Dr Small
October 13th, 2008, 03:38 AM
Greetings, and welcome to Ubuntu and its Forums. :)
I would say, the first most important point would be to not fear the Operating System. Just because it is different doesn't mean you can't explore it and discover how it operates, where things are stored, how things work, etc.

Second off, the command line is your friend. It's easy to use, and very, very powerful. The most useful asset to your entire system. It may seem daunting at first, but with time, you will learn to love it as your best friend.

Keeping these things in mind, don't be afraid to ask questions. We all have doubts and questions at times, and yours will be no different. If you have a specific general question or serious issue that has occured, we are here to help you the best we can, to ensure you get your questions answered, problems resolved, and have an overall fun experience.

Most off all, don't be afraid to try new things. That is the joy of Linux :)

Have fun, and good luck!

Dr Small

keplerspeed
October 13th, 2008, 04:26 AM
SirReel,