PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to install kubuntu after installed ubuntu

fs_tigre
October 13th, 2008, 02:47 AM
Hi,

first of all I'm new to linux and i'm currently trying linux ubuntu and yes, I already have a question.

Is it possible to install kubuntu if I have already installed ubuntu?

If yes, do I have to make a new istallation and a new partition or how can I do this?

Can someone explain this please?

Thanks,
fs_tigre

SuperSonic4
October 13th, 2008, 02:49 AM
sudo aptitude install kubuntu-desktop

^ Puts the kde desktop along the gnome one

http://www.kubuntu.org/ - Or burn the iso from the link here to a cd and install like you would have ubuntu

northrup
October 13th, 2008, 03:09 AM
There are multiple ways to do this. Note that I haven't done any of these; I'm pretty new to Ubuntu and Linux in general so if something doesn't work quite right, I probably can't really help you much.

Option 1: Install using apt-get

Supposedly, you can use apt-get (an application in the terminal) to install the kubuntu-desktop package, like so:

sudo apt-get install kubuntu-desktop

This will install KDE on your Ubuntu system. Likewise, the same can be done if you have a different Ubuntu (Xubuntu, Fluxbuntu, etc.) by replacing "kubuntu" in "kubuntu-desktop" with the distribution whose desktop you are trying to get (might not work with Fluxbuntu...). So, if you wanted to install Xfce (to get an Xubuntu desktop):

sudo apt-get install xubuntu-desktop

Or, install GNOME (the normal Ubuntu desktop) on a Kubuntu/Xubuntu/Fluxbuntu/whatever computer:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

You should be able to do the same using Synaptic Package Manager (the GUI frontend to the apt-get command) by selecting kubuntu-desktop or whichever you're installing and clicking on the install button. This is great if you don't want to burn a Kubuntu CD, but this requires an internet connection.

Option 2: Install the package via the Kubuntu Install CD