PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Neiter XP or Ubuntu boots after Install

Malax
October 13th, 2008, 01:55 AM
Back again. I gave up on trying to install both os's to the same drive, and decided I would use one drive for Windows XP and one for Xubuntu.

I ran the guided partition using my entire drive, leaving my windows installation alone. I have 3 hard drives, 1 40gb ide, 1 80gb ide, and one 500gb sata.

All were detected fine during the setup, but when I tried to boot I got grub error 17 and the boot stopped.

I then searched for some solutions, switched my jumper settings around with the xp drive as master and ubuntu as slave, and now I'm getting error 22.

I can't boot ubuntu at all, even from the super grub disc, and now windows will only boot until about the windows xp splash screen before it hangs forever. I also got that far from the super grub disk.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm a complete novice with all of this.

Pumalite
October 13th, 2008, 02:36 AM
If you see Grub; hit 'e' then 'e' again. Try different combinations:
(hd0,1), (hd1,0). Press 'Enter', then 'b' for boot. When you find the right one; you can make the change permanent in menu.lst.

Patb
October 13th, 2008, 02:58 AM
Malax, make sure the partition names and uuids are correct for the partition you are trying to boot. Note that grub numbering starts at 0 whereas linux starts at "a" or 1. Thus Grub's (hd0,1) refers to /dev/sda2 and (hd1,0) refers to /dev/sdb1 and
so on. To list relevant information, from a live CD:

sudo fdisk -l
sudo blkid
Cheers, Pat.

caljohnsmith
October 13th, 2008, 03:02 AM
All were detected fine during the setup, but when I tried to boot I got grub error 17 and the boot stopped.

I then searched for some solutions, switched my jumper settings around with the xp drive as master and ubuntu as slave, and now I'm getting error 22.

So do you get those Grub errors before you see a Grub menu or after you select an OS and try to boot it?

Malax