PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Nimbus 0.1.0 - now what do I do with it?

fballem
October 12th, 2008, 02:24 AM
I have found a link on the Sun site to Nimbus 0.1.0 at http://dlc.sun.com/osol/jds/downloads/extras/nimbus/

I have downloaded it, but I'm a relative newbie. Could someone with more experience than me have a look and tell me what to do with it. There is a readme file, on which I followed the instructions, but I'm not sure what I ended up with, or what to do with it.

Many thanks,

Partyboi2
October 13th, 2008, 07:19 AM
I have not tried to install it but all you should need to do is .... Open a terminal and change in the directory where the downloaded nimbus-0.1.0.tar.bz2 file is. So if its on your Desktop

cd ~/Desktop Then install some packages you will need to compile it.

sudo apt-get install build-essential gnome-devel icon-naming-utilsAfter they have installed, extract the nimbus file

tar xvjf nimbus-0.1.0.tar.bz2change into the newly created directory

cd nimbus-0.1.0 then

./configure if that is successful and returns no errors, then

make if that returns with no errors install it with

sudo make install

fballem
October 13th, 2008, 12:42 PM
So now that I know what to do with this, what is produced in the make and make install commands?

The reason that I'd rather not have to go through this pain again - I'd rather just install the end result if that's doable.

Thanks,

WTF_Shelley
October 13th, 2008, 02:38 PM
install checkinstall

sudo apt-get install checkinstall

then after 'sudo make install' nimbus, type 'sudo make checkinstall'

this will create a .deb file for you which you can reinstall later with dpkg -i nimbus.deb

fballem
October 19th, 2008, 02:55 PM
Argh! This isn't working for me at all.

If someone tells me how, then I'll gladly repeat the process so that you can look at the output and tell me what I'm doing wrong.

The instructions that I'm trying to follow are:

cd ~/Desktop