PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New Installation 8.x

fdates
October 11th, 2008, 06:43 PM
Hello.

I'm BRAND NEW to Ubuntu and Linux. The idea of possibly getting away from Windows intrigues me.

With that said...

I burned a CD and verified that it was good using Ubuntu's cd verify selection.

The machine is a x386 box that has an existing 'buggy' Windows XP on the hard drive.

I want to completely WIPE THIS DRIVE of Windows and install Ubuntu v8.x

When I boot up on the CD, the VIDEO display is okay to allow me to select ENGLISH and to select INSTALL UBUNTU. But then, the VIDEO gets all whacky to where I can partially see the installation but many words are not clear. I do not know how to make this VIDEO look correctly so I can proceed with the installation, and the install CD does not appear to notice that the VIDEO is not displaying correctly or trying to correct it.

What do I do?

System Specifications:

Intel Desktop Board D201GLY2
Celeron 220 w/ 533 Mhz system bus
1 gig 240-pin DDR SDRAM DIMM

SIS662 Northbridge
SIS964 Southbride

ADI AD1888 audio codec

Integrated SiS Mirage 1 graphic engine.

Thanks.
Rick

ChildOfMana
October 11th, 2008, 07:01 PM
Hi, and welcome!

Sounds like your problem could be a driver issue.

After a little digging around on google I found this (http://pclinuxoshwdb.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=824&Itemid=1). It's from the PCLinuxOS website so may not be much use to you as an Ubuntu user but the crux of it is that SiS have either not written, or not relased, 3D Linux drivers for this chipset.

Edit: Unfortunately I can't be of much more help to you than this as I wouldn't know how to go about fixing/working around this problem but google is your friend. Plenty of knowledgeable and friendly people on this forum too.

Kevbert
October 11th, 2008, 07:29 PM
Agree with the last post, please take a look at this post (http://ncc-1701a.homelinux.net/WikiBerd/?page=LinuxSis67x).