PDA

View Full Version : extract data from http sorce using bash

marli2
October 11th, 2008, 12:09 PM
Hi im pretty new to linux and therin bash.

ive knocked to gether this script

while read inputline
do
youtube_url="$(echo $inputline)"
youtube-dl $youtube_url

done < videos.txt

# Convert the flv files to mpg and mp3 files

for i in *.flv
do
ffmpeg -i $i $i.mpg
# comment out the next line if you don't want MP3's extracted
mplayer -dumpaudio $i -dumpfile $i.mp3
# The next line deletes all FLV files in the current directory to cleanup
rm $i
rm $i.mpg

done

its not all my own work BTW.
it extracts the youtube urls from videos.txt and dl and coverts them, im sure it can be optimised however i need to add somthing.
I want to extract the title from the page and rename the mp3. I am doing this to learn bash, I have only used the above code becuase I understand it. Ive found lots of ways of doing it but i dont understand it, and if i dont understand code i wont learn or be able to optimise it.

could sombody post the needed commands and what is actully happening

drubin
October 11th, 2008, 12:21 PM
You are going to have to use wget to get hold of the web page.
http://linux.byexamples.com/archives/302/how-to-wget-flv-from-youtube/

This might help

marli2
October 11th, 2008, 12:52 PM
do
wget -O test $youtube_url
TITLE = grep "id=\"video_title\"" test | cut -d">" -f2 | cut -d"<" -f1
youtube-dl -O $TITLE.flv $youtube_url

done < videos.txt

but i get the following error

/home/simon/Downloads/flv/youtube2mp3.sh: 27: TITLE: not found

calraith
October 11th, 2008, 01:13 PM
but i get the following error

/home/simon/Downloads/flv/youtube2mp3.sh: 27: TITLE: not found

This is subtle. You have a space on either side of the equal sign when you're assigning a value to $TITLE. Bash is very picky about spaces. Don't use spaces when you're assigning values. Do use spaces separating arguments within the brackets of if statements. For example:

foo="bar"
if [ "$bar" = "baz" ]; then