PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] question about X server and disabling

zero7404
October 11th, 2008, 12:02 AM
i'm pretty sure with the popularity of this OS, someone might have posted about this before, but searching for my answer hasn't been easy (at least on this forum)....

i'm new to Linux, as i did my own research and managed to install it on an external hdd and it runs fine with i start up from the hdd, i'm good.

however, i've downloaded nvidia's latest linux driver package for my machine, and after trying to execute the installer it tells me i need to exit the X server. when i use CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE (i think that's the exit X server command) and i log into ubuntu and try to install the same package, i get the same message.

i'm a complete linux novice, so I have no idea what's going on here, anyone have suggestions ?

this is the latest ubuntu (8.1) and i have not yet installed all the update packages when prompted (it has found some 260+ packages)...

thanks

Pumalite
October 11th, 2008, 12:06 AM
Install all your updates first

zero7404
October 11th, 2008, 12:16 AM
Install all your updates first

i figured that might have something to do with it...thanks

sokopok
October 11th, 2008, 01:58 AM
Dont install the drivers from the nvidia website. Use Package Manager to install/upgrade the drivers shipped by Ubuntu (nvidia-glx if I'm not mistaken). This will save you many headaches...

zero7404
October 11th, 2008, 02:51 AM
Dont install the drivers from the nvidia website. Use Package Manager to install/upgrade the drivers shipped by Ubuntu (nvidia-glx if I'm not mistaken). This will save you many headaches...

nvidia's driver package was not installing after updating ubuntu, same message (exit x server)...

is the package manager you're referring to the 'Synaptic Package Manager' ? doing a search for Nvidia doesn't return anything with the '-glx' term, but there are others listed. regardless, the manager shows that i have the latest version installed already.