PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Cannot load from CD (black screen)

savingedmund
October 10th, 2008, 06:57 PM
NOTE: this is my second attempt at posting this. Can someone help me? Please?!

CONFIRMED: This is most likely related to the known ATI card issue

Hey guys,

I'm a noob in every sense (new to the forum, Kubuntu, Linux, everything), so bear with me. I am not an expert on the OS side of things. :)

I also apologize if this is a known bug. If so, feel free to direct me to the right place. :)

Anyway, I wanted to try Kubuntu because I wanted something more stable that would run better on my old Pentium 4 machine.

To be clear, I'm using the Kubuntu KDE 4 Remix (8.04).

I downloaded the ISO and checked the hash, then burned the image onto a CD.
I booted to the CD, and the load screen opens fine.
I get to the screen where I can choose an option, and I choose Check CD, and it checks it and there are no errors.
I reboot and get back to that screen load from CD (because I want to try before I buy, so to speak. this is my first time, after all).
The machine does the load bars (black screen and little blue bar going across the screen), but when the load bar is complete, my screen goes blank, and I do mean blank. There isn't a cursor. My monitor light goes amber (no signal).

Now, I waited a while (it is booting off of a CD, so I know it will be very slow), and watched my hard drive light. There was a bunch of activity for a while, but eventually the activity stopped. The CD light was on, but nothing else was doing anything. still no signal. I waited a good 5 minutes and nothing happened.

Am I simply not waiting long enough, or is there something else wrong here? :confused:

Paul41
October 10th, 2008, 07:02 PM
What graphics card do you have? I have had this problem before with a ATI card.

savingedmund
October 10th, 2008, 07:37 PM
I will have to go home to check, but I am about 90% sure it's ATI. If it is, is there a workaround?

Paul41
October 10th, 2008, 07:42 PM