PDA

View Full Version : JAVA n00b

marcadams
December 28th, 2004, 10:59 PM
Hello;

I've been a Windows developer for over ten year, however, at home I have recently moved to Ubuntu. I have experience in Borland C++, Delphi and C#, however, I would like to learn Java...on my Ubuntu box.

I would be very grateful if anybody could recommend the essentials I need to start developing with Java.

The first issue is probably:- Is it better to start using IDE's like NetBean or Eclispe, or stick to a simple editor e.g. JGrasp? What is the best environment to learn Java?

Secondly, what other installations are essential / make my life easier for Java development?

All your help is greatly appreciated,
Marc

gborbolla
December 29th, 2004, 12:40 AM
Hi,

I recommend to start by following the Java tutorial found at java.sun.com (http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/index.html) and take a look at www.javaranch.com (http://www.javaranch.com) they are both great resources for learning the Java language and since you're and experienced developer you should not have any problems.

For the environment I recommend start by using a simple editor and JDK, since using IDEs gives you no inside language of some basic stuff, once you're familiar with the language I recommend using Eclipse, it's the best IDE I found for Java.

You can find a HowTo for Java in the ubuntu wiki, its great and easy to follow.

Hope this helps.

Greetings

German Borbolla

randy
December 30th, 2004, 02:54 AM
When you get into slightly bigger projects you may find it usefull to use ant. It's far superior to make.

elwis
December 30th, 2004, 07:02 PM
Hello;

I've been a Windows developer for over ten year, however, at home I have recently moved to Ubuntu. I have experience in Borland C++, Delphi and C#, however, I would like to learn Java...on my Ubuntu box.

I would be very grateful if anybody could recommend the essentials I need to start developing with Java.