PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Installation Freezing

qwertymodo
October 9th, 2008, 08:34 AM
Hey, I'm new to Linux, I'm dual-booting with Vista. I just successfully installed the 64-bit version of 8.04 on my laptop and went to do the same on my desktop, but it whacks out and freezes on me. Ok, terrible description, let me explain.

I can access the menu where I choose Install/Run Live/Check CD for errors, etc. No matter what I choose I get a loading kernel dialog which makes it to 100%, then I see a screen with the ubuntu logo and a rectangular status bar. The first problem is with the status bar. I remember from the successful install that it's supposed to bounce back and forth for awhile, then after awhile it starts at the left and fills instead of moving until it reaches a representation of "done" (all the way full). On my desktop it goes all the way to the right, then bounces back about a third of the way and it splits, with the top of the rectangle staying stuck where it is and the rest continuing to bounce back and forth. Also, in the lower right portion of the screen part of the rectangle randomly shows up there too, moving (it's only like 4-5 pixels tall, but the same width and it follows the movement of the normal rectangle). It keeps bouncing for a long time then either shuts down the computer and restarts or else it just freezes completely. That's all I know that ever happens. If there's any way to get more information, I'd be happy to provide it but I never see any text corresponding with it, just the Ubuntu logo with the statusbar that whacks out and then either a reboot or else just freezing. I think usually if I completely shut down and restart it reboots once and the second time is when it freezes. I'm not a computer n00b, just a linux neophyte... don't flame windows, I already know.

Here's what I know about my computer:

AMD64 Phenom Quad-core 9800 processor
4GB DDR2 RAM
ASUS Motherboard