PDA

View Full Version : C programming - getting started

benreilly013181
October 9th, 2008, 06:51 AM
Hi Guys & Gals,

I'm just new in UBUNTU and i'm studying about C Programming. I already installed build-essential and i'm using geany as editor and compiler but i'm having trouble as i go on....

Here's my problem...

I'm running the palindrome program.

#include<stdio.h>
#include<string.h>
#define size 26

void main()
{
char strsrc[size];
char strtmp[size];

printf("\n Enter String:= "); gets(strsrc);

strcpy(strtmp,strsrc);
strrev(strtmp);

if(strcmp(strsrc,strtmp)==0)
printf("\n Entered string \"%s\" ispalindrome",strsrc);
else
printf("\n Entered string \"%s\" is not palindrome",strsrc);
}

upon building it (F9), i get this error:

gcc -Wall "palindrome.c" -o "palindrome" (in directory: /home/benreilly)
palindrome.c:6: warning: return type of ‘main’ is not ‘int’
palindrome.c: In function ‘main’:
palindrome.c:13: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘strrev’
/tmp/ccdLquFl.o: In function `main':
palindrome.c:(.text+0x2f): warning: the `gets' function is dangerous and should not be used.
palindrome.c:(.text+0x4c): undefined reference to `strrev'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Compilation failed.

Please kindly help...

Canis familiaris
October 9th, 2008, 07:13 AM
(1) use: int main() and return 0 instead of void main()
(2) Don't use gets()
(3) Make your own reverse a string function. strrev is not defined in string.h.

dwhitney67
October 9th, 2008, 07:35 AM
(2) Don't use gets()

That's right. Use fgets() instead.

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

int main()
{
char strsrc[20] = {0}; // initialize all chars to null (0)

fgets( strsrc, sizeof(strsrc), stdin );

// and if you want to remove the newline at the end of the input string...
char *newline = strchr( strsrc, '\n' );
if ( newline ) *newline = '\0';

return 0;
}

benreilly013181
October 9th, 2008, 10:51 AM
Thanks a lot for the info. I'll gonna try it...

You're great guys...

I'll keep you posted.