PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error during installation...

SirShiv
October 9th, 2008, 02:13 AM
Hey all,

Just built a new comp (this is my first build) and was going to install Ubuntu on it. I made a Ubuntu DVD burning at the slowest speed possible as recommended. I started the process and entered all the info as asked then I got to the installation process. Only a few seconds in I got the following error message:

"The ext3 file system creation in partition #1 of SCSI1 (0,0,0) (sda)failed."

I need to know what this means?/what is wrong?/what did i do wrong?

My comp specs are:
Mobo- ASUS M3N-HD/HDMI
RAM- 2gb Corsair Dominator Twin2X4096-8500C5DF
GFX- EVGA GeForce 8800 GT
HDD- 1TB Segate Barracuda
CPU- AMD Phenom quad core

Partyboi2
October 9th, 2008, 02:34 AM
It means that the installer was unable to create the ext3 filesystem on your hard drive. Try making the partitions with gparted (System>Admin>Partition Editor) before running the installer.

Pumalite
October 9th, 2008, 02:38 AM
Or use Gparted Live CD:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=115843&package_id=271779
Burn the iso to disk and boot from it.
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/partitioning

SirShiv
October 9th, 2008, 02:39 AM
Am I able to or is there a way to do that with no OS on the comp? (I apologize, I'm a noob to both building and Ubuntu)

Partyboi2
October 9th, 2008, 02:43 AM
Use the ubuntu live cd >gparted (System>Admin>Partition Editor) or as mentioned by Pumalite use the gparted live cd. It does not matter that there is no os installed as both of these methods do not require a os installed.

SirShiv
October 9th, 2008, 04:15 AM