PDA

View Full Version : internet anonymity

aaarg
November 23rd, 2005, 08:23 PM
i am just curious about what people use (if anything) to protect their anonymity on the internet.

i personally use tor/privoxy and i2p and occasionally jap....which do you think is the best (not necessarily one of those i mentioned) and for what reason?

Stormy Eyes
November 23rd, 2005, 09:03 PM
If I want privacy, I use email encrypted with gnupg. Frankly, I don't care if the NSA knows I surf this forum, click on Boobies links at FARK.com, or read articles at http://solohq.com. Let those demon-ridden scumbags think what they will. If they want to spy on me, I'll just drop my pants and moon them.

jdong
November 24th, 2005, 01:00 AM
Tor/privoxy.

aaarg
November 24th, 2005, 02:01 AM
i am new to the i2p, but i have been using tor for quite a while.....i generally use tor more often for generic browsing, but i2p has a lot of potential (especially in the filesharing areas, which with the riaa/mpaa evil empire on withchhunts has people using filesharing apps through tor....... which is what is bringing tor to a crawl)

anybody use anything else?

majikstreet
November 24th, 2005, 02:06 AM
Tor/privoxy.
aren't proxies/union routers slow?

WildTangent
November 24th, 2005, 04:37 AM
I don't bother. If some government agency is so interested in who I am, and what I do, there isn't much I can do to prevent it anyway. And I live in Canada, so I don't need to worry about the RIAA/MPAA :p

-Wild

jdong
November 24th, 2005, 04:57 AM
I should clarify... I use Tor for 2 reasons:

(1) Bypassing poorly devised filtering/firewall setups (AIM, IRC, ubuntuforums.org, slashdot.org)
(2) When I don't want a network administrator to track me... There are some of these guys that I know, and I really don't feel comfortable with them knowing about too much of my online activities.

towsonu2003
November 24th, 2005, 08:03 AM
just linking, as this one has some opinions too: