View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dumb question warning: Where is mythfrontend.log?

October 7th, 2008, 08:49 PM
I know, I know.

I've been meddling with Myth now for about four months, have a BE/FE + remote FE system all happily working, and have done a fair bit if debugging to get there.

...but I still can't find my frontend log:oops: I'm running Mythbuntu 8.04.1 i386, and I thought the logfiles should be in /var/log/mythtv.

But they aren't.

Someone? Please?

Edit: This is on the remote frontend FWIW.

October 7th, 2008, 08:53 PM
If you run mythfrontend from the menu that's where it will be (/var/log/mythtv). If you run it commandline by default it won't create a log file. If you run it with the --service option commandline it will create that log file by default (and it reads the options in /etc/mythtv/session-settings). Or you could use the -l option to specify to put the logfile wherever you want.

October 7th, 2008, 08:53 PM

October 7th, 2008, 08:54 PM

October 7th, 2008, 09:30 PM
Volkswagner, thanks (twice!), but it's not there:

frontend@frontend-desktop:~$ ls -al /var/log/mythtv
ls: cannot access /var/log/mythtv: No such file or directory

Newlinux:I'm running a regular mythbuntu install, with autologin enabled. There is no logfile in the above location (hell the location deosn't even exist, there's no /var/log/mythtv!), even if I start mythfrontend from the menu.

I added the following:
MYTHFRONTEND_OPTS="--logfile /var/log/mythtv/mythfrontend.log" to the end of /etc/mythtv/session-settings, and now Mythtv won't start, either after an autologin, or from the menu.

If I run from the commandline, Myth starts OK, but I don't get a log - even if I specify one:
mythfrontend -l /var/log/mythtv/mythfrontend.log